Belize Government

Belize is a parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy which recognizes Queen Elizabeth II as Sovereign.

Since Belize attained independence from Britain on September 21, 1981, its Government was stable and democratic. The Cabinet works under the leadership of the Prime Minister in order to direct the policy of the Government consisting of the Prime Minister and the ministers that are chosen by him from the members of the House of Representatives (an elected body) and the Senate (an appointed body).

Executive branch in Belize is represented by the Chief of State, the Head of Government and the Cabinet. The Chief of State is Queen Elizabeth II, represented by Governor General Sir Colville Young, Sr. The Head of Government is Prime Minister Said Wilbert Musa, the Deputy Prime Minister is John Briceno. The Cabinet is appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister.

Legislative branch is represented by Bicameral National Assembly that consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate is appointed for 5 years and consists of 12 members appointed by the governor general - 6 of them on the advice of the prime minister, 3 on the advice of the leader of the opposition and 1 each on the advice of the Belize Council of Churches and Evangelical Association of Churches, the Belize Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the Belize Better Business Bureau, and the National Trade Union Congress and the Civil Society Steering Committee. The House of Representatives consists of 29 members elected by direct popular vote for 5 years.

Judicial branch is represented by Supreme Court, and the chief justice is appointed by the governor general on the advice of the prime minister. BelizeĀ“s legal system is based on common law.

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) replaces the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council serving as the court of last instance for the Caribbean Community (Caricom) members. It also serves as an appeal court in civil and criminal cases from common law courts in member countries.

The leading parties are PeopleĀ“s United Party (PUP) and United Democratic Party (UDP).

General elections are held at intervals of not longer than once per 5 years. The Prime Minister has the right to advise the Governor-general to dissolve the National Assembly after which the date of the general elections is to be determined.